22 Members
Join Us!

A little history:

Population per the 2012 census- 8,185,867

Virginia was admitted as the 10th state on June 25th 1788. Her motto is "Sic Semper Tyrannis" (Thus Always to Tyrants).

Virginia is sometimes referred to as the “Old Dominion State” after Charles II of England, having added Virginia to his dominions of France, Ireland and Scotland, added the arms of Virginia on his shield in 1663. Virginia is also sometimes called the “Mother State” because it was the first state to be colonized.  

Virginia in the 2012 election was a ‘Blue’ state however most counties remained ‘Red’.


Virginia is rich in Colonial, Revolutionary War and Civil War history. It would be an insult to this great state to attempt to condense its history. Instead we offer as a starting point the Colonial Period..

Overview of Virginia’s remarkable contribution to the founding of this Republic:

When it became clear that war with Great Britain could not be avoided Virginia’s native sons George Wythe, Richard Henry Lee, Thomas Jefferson, Benjamin Harrison V, Thomas Nelson, Francis Lightfoot Lee, and Carter Braxton headed to Philadelphia where they met with representatives from other colonies to declare independence from the mother country.

Virginia Declaration of Rights, principally authored by George Mason,  influenced the US Declaration of Independence and the US Bill of Rights.

On July 4, 1776, the Continental Congress formally adopted the Declaration of Independence and took the first momentous step toward establishing a new nation.to  were all signers of the Declaration of Independence. Thomas Jefferson was the principal author of the Declaration of Independence.

Virginia had seven delegates to the Constitutional Convention in 1787 to revise and amend the Articles of Confederation they were (John Blair, James Madison Jr., George Washington, George Mason, James McClurg, Edmund J. Randolph and George Wythe).

Virginia earned the nickname, "Mother of Presidents" for good reason. ‘The Old Dominion’ gave birth to eight men who attained the office of President of the United States (George Washington and James Madison were the only presidents who signed the Constitution):

George Washington: 1st President of the United States, George Washington was born on February 22, 1732, on Pope Creek in Westmoreland County. The nation's military leader during the Revolutionary War, George Washington was a unanimous choice. He served for two terms, from 1789 to 1797.

Thomas Jefferson: 3rd President of the United States, Thomas Jefferson was born on April 13, 1743 at Shadwell plantation, Gooch County. Following John Adams of Massachusetts, Thomas Jefferson served two terms from 1801 to 1809.

James Madison: 4th President of the United States, James Madison was born on March 16, 1751 in Port Conway. He served two terms from 1809 to 1817.

James Monroe: 5th President of the United States, James Monroe was born in Westmoreland County on April 28, 1758. He served two terms from 1817 to 1825.

William Henry Harrison: 9th President of the United States, William Henry Harrison was born on February 9, 1773 on Berkeley plantation, Charles City County. His term in office was unfortunately short-lived as William Henry Harrison succumbed to pneumonia on April 4, 1841, only one month after his inauguration. He was the first President to die while in office.

John Tyler: 10th President of the United States, Vice President John Tyler set the precedent for presidential succession when he took office after William Henry Harrison's death. He served the remainder of Harrison's term from 1841 to 1845. John Tyler was born on March 20, 1790 in Charles City County.

Zachary Taylor: 12th President of the United States, Zachary Taylor was born on November 24, 1784, near Barboursville. He became the second President to die in office when he succumbed to "cholera morbus" on July 9, 1850, only sixteen months after his inauguration. Vice President Millard Fillmore, a native New Yorker became the thirteenth President of the United States after Taylor's death.

Thomas Woodrow Wilson: 28th President of the United States, Woodrow Wilson was born on December 28, 1856, in Staunton. He served two terms from 1913 to 1921.

Virginia is awash in Civil War history. To read of Virginia’s time during this period refer to The Encyclopedia Virginia The American Civil War in Virginia.

The Ordinance of Secession is approved by Virginia voters on May 23, 1861 by a vote of 125,950 to 20,373, with many western Virginia votes being discarded from the tally. To read more about the wrenching decision to leave the Union refer to  Virginia Convention of 1861.

The Commonwealth of Virginia was re-admitted to the Union on January 26th 1870.





Shop our own Amazon store and help support TCC




Click here for important Agenda 21 Petition 



TCC's Gift To Patriots!


A FREE flip book version of
The 912 Project Chronicles,
as written by the members of this website! Enjoy and share with your friends! Simply click below to read full screen. The e-book version is also available on Amazon for just $2.99 (of which TCC earns a small commission to offset site costs)

To leave a comment on our e-book Please click here